Support:

Mobile Broadband

Search in Community:
Reply
Poster
afghaniscan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎14-09-2009

Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X

Hello All
And especially Vodaphone
And us poor fools using something other than Windows

Recently got mobile broadband
Usual score really
Fairly disappointed with reception
BLAH BLAH BLAH
They will all have there ups and downs - whatever provider

Anyway

Running mobile broadband - the white one - on a macbook pro
And as usual the Mac version of the mobile connect is butchered
With no functionality at all
But did i really expect anything else
The main issue i have is that i need to check my data usage so i dont go over and give vodaphone anymore than they are already getting from me

Mac version of vodaphone mobile connect doesn't tell me anything apart from signal strength
And also has no text funtionality (like the windows one has)
So how can i then register the modem's number on the website to find the data usage in the billing section if i have no way of getting a text message to that number

How do i sort it out

Do i stick the sim in my phone to see if there is a text there with the password for website after i have registered the number
Do i have to just get Vodaphone to set it up - if so - why did the lad in the shop tell me nothing of any consequence and that the lad on the mobile broadband helpline not tell me how to actually set it up on the website seeing as i doesn't work
I cannot register without receiving the pass by text

Come On Vodaphone
Answer this post
I will be very impressed if i get an answer after business hours in this forum
I will not hold my breath though
It could be dangerous

Cheers Lads
A persecuted Mac User
In a world full of Windows
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 1 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.
Daz
Posts: 13,180
Topics: 8
Kudos: 329
Solutions: 207
Registered: ‎10-08-2009

Re:Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X

Hi Afghaniscan,
We've passed this straight on to our technicians, and will post here when we receive a resolution for you.

Thanks!
Learn all about our new forum, right here .
If I've requested details via a private message, please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link may not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 2 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.
Poster
afghaniscan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎14-09-2009

Re:Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X


Hi Afghaniscan,
We've passed this straight on to our technicians, and will post here when we receive a resolution for you.

Thanks!



TAKING UR TIME BOYS ...
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 3 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.
Poster
Val from Vodafone
Posts: 620
Registered: ‎09-06-2009

Re:Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X


TAKING UR TIME BOYS ...


Hi Afghaniscan
If you put the sim into a vodafone phone first,and then go to the website and do the registration, the sms with the password will be generated and will be sent to the phone.


Val
Valerie

Vodafone View team.
Not a Vodafone customer yet? Talk to Vodafone on Boards.ie
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 4 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.
Poster
afghaniscan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎14-09-2009

Re:Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X

cool
i'll try that and get back
laterz
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 5 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.
Poster
afghaniscan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎14-09-2009

Re:Mobile Broadband Data Usage Quota Check MAC OS X

that worked
sim needs to be in the phone before u create a user
u cant just send the sim a text in the modem
cheers
laterz
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 6 of 6 (7,565 Views)
Please use plain text.