Search in Community:
Reply
Highlighted
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017
Accepted Solution

Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Hi

I'm on payg and when I tether I'm being charged.
I have only 1 apn on my phone and that's using LIVE.vodafone.ie. I even deleted it and set it up again just to be sure.

However when I contacted online chat they say I've used HS for Tether.

How can that be?
Does Vodafone automatically route all tether via HS regardless of one's apn settings?
Or is there something set incorrectly for my account?

I'm a new customer this month.
When I first signed up I also got charged for normal data usage twice shortly after topping up.
Not sure if this is related or of any significance?

BTW I have already been refunded so that aspect is sorted.

I just want to know if I should be able to tether using LIVE.vidafone.ie

Thanks!
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 1 of 42 (1,611 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

Hi there,

 

Can you please confirm the make & model of your handset?

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 2 of 42 (1,608 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
I have a sim free Sony Z5
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 3 of 42 (1,607 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

Hi there,

 

Our tech support team have confirmed that your handset does have the capacity to tether on the live.vodafone.com APN, however they have confirmed that the reason you were connected to the hs.vodafone.ie APN while tethering is because the APN's on your account profile were not adjusted, although you have deleted all other APN's from your handset, you will default to this hs.vodafone.ie while tethering if you have not requested to have your profile adjusted accordingly.

 

Please note we have now removed all APN's on the account except for the live.vodafone.com APN.

 

To ensure your handset is connected to the correct APN before tethering, I have included a guide in the link below;

http://deviceguides.vodafone.ie/web/sony-xperia-z5-compact-android-5-1-1/explore/internet/set-up-you....

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 4 of 42 (1,596 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Many thanks Ashling.
Like I said the apn on my phone is correct.
I'll give it a test and revert to let you know how it goes.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 5 of 42 (1,595 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

No problem, can you please restart your handset before tethering your device? If you need anything else, please get in touch.

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 6 of 42 (1,594 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
I restated my phone and tried a tether.
So far my balance hasn't been affected,so looking good.

Strange how HS was setup on my account when I hadn't requested it to begin with.

Anyhow all's well that ends well.

Many thanks again Ashling.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 7 of 42 (1,591 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Hi Asling

Looks like I spoke too soon.
I checked my balance before I tethered.
My balance has just been deducted.

Can you check this for me please?

Thanks!
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 8 of 42 (1,586 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

That's very strange, I have asked our tech team to look into this a little further. I will be back in touch as soon as I have an update.

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 9 of 42 (1,584 Views)
Posts: 7,441
Topics: 54
Kudos: 1,043
Solutions: 198
Registered: ‎09-11-2012

Re: Being charged for Tether

Are you tethering with any special app or is it just you turning on the hotspot on your device?
What plan are you on at present?
Cookie
Vodafone Community Expert (or so I'm told) and S9 owner. I don't work for Vodafone
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 10 of 42 (1,583 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Just turning on the default Android hotspot.
I'm not using any special app.
Vodafone X.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 11 of 42 (1,577 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
I noticed that following difference in my apn

Auth was blank
Apn type was blank

I've just changed those to
Auth PAP
Apn type default

(Note apn has always been set as live.vodafone.ie)

Would that actually make any difference?
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 12 of 42 (1,576 Views)
Posts: 7,441
Topics: 54
Kudos: 1,043
Solutions: 198
Registered: ‎09-11-2012

Re: Being charged for Tether

[ Edited ]

I would delete all APN's on your device, reboot it and then add only the live.vodafone.ie.Reboot the device and then test data on hotspot and report back.

Rebooting is important.

Cookie
Vodafone Community Expert (or so I'm told) and S9 owner. I don't work for Vodafone
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 13 of 42 (1,570 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

Cookie is spot on, our tech team have confirmed that your account is now provisioned correctly, can you please follow the steps included in the link from my previous post and add the settings below to the live.vodafone.com APN on your handset:

 

Proxy: 10.24.59.100

Port: 80

 

Once you have completed these steps, please restart your handset.

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 14 of 42 (1,567 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Ok I've done all that and will observe how it goes for the next day or 2 before I rush into reporting back.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 15 of 42 (1,558 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Just checked tried another tether test and got charged again.

Apn is setup correctly with proxy etc plus I followed reboots etc as outlined.

Can you check on your end again please.
Somethings routing me via HS?
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 16 of 42 (1,546 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

Hi there,

 

I have asked our escalations team to investigate this further. I have also applied a credit of €3.79 to your account, this covers the additional charges you have occurred while testing your handset. I will be back in touch as soon as I have more information, in the meantime, can you please refrain from tethering your device until further notice.

 

Thanks,

Ashling

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 17 of 42 (1,530 Views)
Frequent Poster
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Sony E6653
Thanks Ashling I appreciate it.

Hopefully that won't take too long; it'd be great to get this sorted before the long weekend if at all possible.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 18 of 42 (1,528 Views)
Moderator
Posts: 4,511
Registered: ‎01-11-2016

Re: Being charged for Tether

No problem at all, I will keep you posted Smiley Happy

Learn all about our new forum, right here .
To send me a private message, simply click here
Please include a link to your thread when sending these over - due to the volume of queries, PMs without a thread link will not be answered.
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 19 of 42 (1,526 Views)
Poster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2017

Re: Being charged for Tether

Posted from Generic Android 2.0

Hi Ashling, I'll make a new thread if needed but I am currently facing an identical issue.

 

Have had a refund issued (over €20 for 112MB). I deleted the hs apn from my phone but have not had it removed from my account. I have been a Vodafone customer for well over a year and have only been charged for tethering this month.

 

Anything you can do? Handset is a oneplus 3T

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Message 20 of 42 (1,498 Views)